I Guess It Took This

I’m trying very hard to keep from posting photos of dead children.  One reason is that seems emotionally manipulative, and the other more obvious reason is that they are just so hard to look upon.  I may not be able to refrain much longer.  If it takes photos of Syrian children gasping their final breath to jar people, well so be it.  We need to decide who we are as a country…

It’s nearly impossible to put the politics of the region aside.  This war (like all wars) is about resources and who controls them.  The British, France, Germany and America were stoking the fires of radical Islam way back in the 19th century as a way to justify occupation.  It still goes on today.

At this point, I just want to see Bashar al-Assad removed from power and jailed.

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “I Guess It Took This

  1. Char

    How can we trust the current administration to do anything about Syria? Everything he touches turns to shit.

  2. democommie

    Actually, he needs to be dead and his inner circle need to be hunted down and jailed.

    You’re absolutely right about the whole, “We need to save these people from themselves and, oh, btw, lookit allathat lovely liquid money they’re sittin’ on!”, thing.

    Over at Dispatches from the Culture Wars, the other day, a commenter said something about stopping people from flying planes into tall buildings. I said the best way to do that was to stop giving them reasons to do so. Radical Islam has existed for as long as islam, just like fundamentalist Christianity and Ultra-Orthodox Judaism. But the radicals in the muslim ranks have had an absolute turboboost from the shitheads in the neo-con and Aipac ranks.

    Trumpligula’s a jerkish dickwad who has no clue about how government works and he has no interest in learning. Rex Tillerson is really good at MAKING people who work for him do what he wants them to do–not so much when it comes to countries that don’t get a check every week.The current pretendsident’s Russkibesty, Tsar Vlad, is perfectly happy to stir the pot because he knows that nobody can do anything to him without starting a nuclear conflagration (that he is wrong on that score won’t become obvious to him until he gets a third eye, courtesy of the palace guard).

    I could go on in this vein for hours, but I won’t because I want other people to do so.

    I hope that I don’t have to wait, well, too long, for your next post, Mac.

    Give ’em hell.

  3. Figuring out “what to do about Assad” is way above my pay grade. Complicated region with a lot of players. I don’t know if sending 60 Tomahawk missiles into an airfield is going to do anything or not; I DO remember Republicans criticizing President Clinton for “wasting money” “sending a missile into an empty tent” when he tried to take out Bin Laden. What I DO know, without a doubt, is that the current turd-in-chief can spare me his alligator tears over “precious little babies” when he shut the door on refugees from this hellhole and even said Syrian refugees currently in the U.S. should be sent back. One of the best ways to help actual Syrian babies is to welcome them into this country. Trump would rather bomb an airfield. We’ll see what happens.

  4. democommie

    If you take a gander over to Dispatches from the Culture Wars, Ed Brayton put up a post on Trumpligula Twoface’s contradictory statements about dealing with Syria, back in 2013.

    The beauty of Tumpligulism is that you don’t need no mem’ry hole when your supporters have nothing but “clearance” between their ears.

    One of the first questions I heard on the news (in the brief 15 seconds or so that it took to tune to PBS/”Barbecue with Franklin” was, “Why not bomb the runway?”. Indeed.

  5. mack50

    Beale…I feel the same way. Launching missiles with advance notice is, to me at least….next to a nothing response.
    Demo- Yeah the runways seem like a better target. So many moving parts to this tho.

  6. democommie

    I”m not the strategist, Mack50 (is that a new blognomen? I hope it’s not how old you are–that would make me feel even more ancient!) but it seems to me that FIRST you crater the runways then you blow up all the shit that can’t fly off.

    The cynic in me says that Trumpligula, through his “hands-off my business interests” promise just found out that launching 60 cruise missiles would make for a significant blip in the stocks that one of his many tentacled properties owns in say, “Cruise Missles ‘R’ Us”. Just a guess.

  7. mack50

    Nah, I’m 60. But I’ve had that mack50 thing for ten years, and the blog longer than that!

  8. democommie

    Whew, good thing. I thought I was gonna have to change mine to democommiescrazierbrother67!

  9. democommie

    In other news. Happy First Sunday after the first Full Moon after the Vernal Equinox! Do not eat too many hard boiled chocolate rabbit’s eggs!

  10. democommie

    “I’m trying very hard to keep from posting photos of dead children.”

    Get used to it. The House just passed the ACA R&R bill.

Leave a Reply

