I Want My Country Back Too

For those of you who don’t already know, there’s an election happening today.  Apparently, it’s the most important election of my lifetime.  It must be.  For over a year now, my inbox has been flooded with requests for money.  Daily.  I think I read somewhere that winning this election is going to cost 2.5 billion dollars, give or take a Super Pac.  I know prices have gone up of late, but, really, TWO AND A HALF BILLION?  A huge chunk of that money went to buying airtime to run ads, mostly in swing states, but there are races everywhere and everybody has to be on the tube.  If I were the cynical type, I might just wonder if media outlets didn’t play up the “horse-race” narrative in an effort to sell more and more airtime.  I know it’s a straw argument, but honestly, I look around and wonder how many schools 2.5 billion dollars builds?  How many local health clinics can we staff with that kind of stack?  How many veterans can we help heal or retrain for some of those great new jobs we have been promised?

My readers know I will vote for President Obama.  There was never any wavering on my part.  I don’t love Obama, nor do I worship him, despite what low information voters might have you believe.  I think the use of drones on U.S. citizens is wrong.  Allowing Holder to run roughshod over the medical marijuana industry deeply disappointed me.  There are serious policy disagreements between us, and he knows it.  Oh, he knows it.  But I have been more than impressed by his job performance as POTUS, particularly because he faced a cabal of craven congress critters intent on making him fail, and some of those were members of his own Party.  The stakes were huge, and he stepped up.  GM, Chrysler, Affordable Care Act, these were not popular causes, yet he got them done.  Beyond that, I really really really don’t want Mitt Romney making appointments to the bench.  Any bench, anywhere.  At any price.

I’m not going to rehash what’s been said about Mitt Romney here on this blog.  You either trust him, or you don’t.  But there is one near constant refrain I keep hearing from Romney supporters, and it irks me every damn time I hear it:

“I want my country back”.

You know what, you pathetic, cringing little milksop?  I do too.  The country I want back is the one that told it’s citizens that if they worked hard, and played by the rules, they could count on a little something when they were too old to work.  The country that told my father and millions of other men, “thank you for serving in our Armed Forces, here’s some tuition money to use to go school.”  Yes.  The country I miss is the one that said, “sure, you can form a union with your fellow workers, and negotiate en mass for safer conditions, better pay, fairer hours, etc.  It’s the country that told it’s black citizens that after generations of enslavement, you are entitled to be free and prosperous and have the full benefit of citizenship.  It’s the country that managed to build thousands of roads and bridges and dams, knowing full well the people doing the work were not the people who would most benefit.

It’s the country that helped win a global war against tyranny, and did so on the heels of a full scale economic meltdown.  It’s the country that asked it’s wealthiest to pony up roughly 87 percent of it’s income so that we might build an infrastructure that was the envy of the entire world.

It’s the country that found value in identifying public space and protected our most precious areas for future generations to enjoy.

I could go on forever, but, lastly, it’s the country that said if you were poor, hungry, tired or oppressed, you were welcome here.

I wonder what country they’re talking about.

Go vote.

9 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

9 responses to “I Want My Country Back Too

  1. Good one, Mackster. Only thing I would argue with, is the condemning of the drone strike on Anwar Al-Awaki, in Yeman. The definition of a US citizen is “A person owing loyalty to and entitled by birth or naturalization to the protection of a state or nation”. Mr. Awaki gave up his citizenship the day he moved to Yeman and took his loyalty to the US with him. He became nothing more than a terrorist against us. I, personally, am glad he is gone, whatever means it took. Otherwise, he would still be sitting there, plotting against us. You know I am very Anti War, but if drones keep US troops off the ground and out of harm’s way, I am for them if war must be fought.
    I pray today’s results are favorable to us. I cannot imagine a country led by Romney/Ryan.

  2. Nancy Russell

    Watch 2016 and then tell us how much you admire Obama. The truth will out and the world is praying that he does not win today.

  3. Nancy, I absolutely PROMISE the world is not hoping for a Romney win. I’ll give you the fact that at least half of this country wants it, though.

  4. Char

    What ever happened to BIG ideas?
    About Eric Holder he serves at the pleasure of the President.
    Of coarse the first black prez can’t be seen as soft on drugs, I’m hoping for some sanity in the 2nd term.

  5. Char, we are seemingly mired in some small, petty shit.

  6. democommie

    Well, for whatever reason, my last two comments simply disappeared.

  7. democommie

    “I want my country back, too.”

    Mission accomplished.

Leave a Reply

