Muddy Waters

The two feeder creeks that run through the property couldn’t handle the flow from last night’s rain.  The culvert backed up, which caused flooding half-way up the foundation of the cabin.  If daylight hadn’t come when it did, we may have lost the cabin altogether.  I have already been up to my dangly bits in water this morning (exhilarating!) dragging trees limbs out of the culvert pipe.  I had to use the front end loader to tie myself to something, and to drag the heavier ones up and out.  This made me re-think last night’s agave binge.  Tequila + 4 hrs sleep + clogged culverts= cranky sumbitch.  Of course, DemoCommie was nowhere to be found…funny how he is never around when there is work to do.

I don’t have much to add, except the observation that my search engine referrals will probably now be filled by folks researching McKinley Morganfield.  I can feel their pain….

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Muddy Waters

  1. The Missus

    Eat some breakfast and take a nap.

  2. democommie

    Mack:

    Let me know when you need some help with the agave.

    It might be worth setting a weir in the creek, between the culvert and the cabin to keep snags from getting into the culvert.

  3. We’ve got a floodgate, Me and another guy built it years ago, but the sheer volume of water just overwhelmed it, I guess.

  4. democommie

    I should’ve known you’d be ahead of me, but that’s good.

Leave a Reply

