Props

90 minutes ago, a dead tree toppled over and took down the phone and power lines, which started a grass fire burning in my front yard, (more accurately described as a pasture.)  I ran out there with a small container of flour, and tried to put it out, only to watch it spread faster.  Using my cell, I contacted 911 and within 5 minutes the fire dept responded, and put out the fire.  about 4 minutes later, the electric company was here with two bucket trucks, and within an hour had re-strung wire and restored our power.  I went out and spliced the phone line back together, since the phone company can’t seem to get here until Friday.  Their wire is on the ground.

I felt pretty stupid standing there, my little container of flour in my hand when those guys showed up.  They were courteous enough not to laugh.  The mayor even dropped by to see to it that the fire was out.  All in all, I can’t complain.

13 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

13 responses to “Props

  1. Glad it all worked out. The Mayor even came by… I love it!

  2. LMAO! Please tell me you had a ruffled apron on and you had been frying chicken when this all happened?

    (Because no matter what, that is how I will be picturing you standing there with your little container of flour…) 😉

  3. I guess this means you have a well and had no electricity to pump it. Been there and like provided water – even if it is White House Utility, the only provatly owned utility company anywhere. I don’t know if I would have thought of trying flour.

  4. EX, I’ve always thought you use flour on a grease fire, like in a kitchen. But, yes, when I scattered it, the fire just went up like i was adding gasoline.

    Jim, I had water, but wouldn’t use it since the fire was right by electric wires. Seemed dangerous.

  5. Oh, yeah. it’s kinda risky behavior around ‘lectricity.

  6. You know how you know you live in the middle of nowhere?
    The mayor turns up to your little front yard fire.

    Most excitement he’s seen in weeks.

  7. Hey! We have a traffic light!

  8. democommie

    Mack:

    I’m not sure about the electrical aspect, but generally, a stream of water applied at the base of a fire works best (unless it’s a flammable liquid), or in some cases a spray over the fire. Flour is a carbohydrate that will burn, and in certain cases (grain elevators are notorious for this) flour or wheat dust will explode.

  9. Boy, don’t I feel stupid.

  10. democommie

    No, uninformed. Stupid would be trying to put it out with gasoline.

  11. I think you might have been thinking that because baking soda can be used on a kitchen grease fire.

  12. Yes, I have since discovered. Guess I’m glad i didn’t have a grease fire before i discovered that.

Leave a Reply

