A Day In The Life

Exhausted.  I woke, slid my feet into my dusty boots, downed a smoothie made of bananas and some red powder I’m bein forced to drink and o.j., and headed outside.  I got the horse’s feet trimmed, loaded 2 tons of gravel onto a 1 ton truck, then unloaded it by hand and spread it over my 610 ft drive.  I hurt in places I can no longer reach.  Washed and folded 2 loads of laundry, cleaned my grill, and now its time to gulp sip some single malt scotch and have a steak dinner.  I plan to be in bed by 7:30

There have been worse days here…

I planned on this whole “the end days are coming post” but it will have to wait until tommorow.  If, you know, there is a tommorow.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “A Day In The Life

  1. Mack:

    I thought you had a tractor? spreading gravel by hand over a 610′ driveway–it must be pretty thin if you only had two yards to work with.

    I got up this morning and thought about doing some stuff, but that made me tired, so I went right to “apres” mode.

  2. Yea, the problem is getting the front end loader and the truck in the same place. Its more than a little spinchter tightening to havethat much weight pointing downhill, and having to work it off by hand…

    Balancing a humongous tractor on a sliver of soft earth will really unclog the lower intestine.

    I had my 11 yr old out there watching the wheels. I told him, if it moves even a little, scream bloody murder.

    I’m whipped, brother. Stress, hard work.

    Yuck.

  3. Mack:

    I know the feeling. I spent saturday on my feet for most of 13 hours, taking pix as a volunteer for a mid-winter fair/fundraiser. By the end of the day my left knee was feeling “soggy” and the rest of my body was just sagging. Sunday I spent some time shoveling snow (and chipping ice) off of the porch roof and trying to clear my driveway apron of a 5-6′ deep mound of snocone from hell. My hands, wrist and shoulders were all throbbing on monday and today they still hurt. If this is what getting old is going to be like, I will be taking steps to find myself someone young and beautiful to take my mind off of it.

    Too bad I wasn’t there, I can scream like a girl!

Leave a Reply

