Pledges? We Don’t Need No Stinking Pledges

I’ll say right up front that the machinations and gyrations of State politics hold little interest for me.  I know that processes and procedures are important and perhaps vital at times, but at my age, I’ve had my fill.  I am interested in what happens to the People of Tennessee, but no more, and no less than I am interested in what happens to the People of Georgia, Arkansas, or, for that matter, Juarez, Mexico, or Quebec, Canada.   This is the basis for my lack of participation in saluting the Flag.  I don’t do it.  I do not recite The Pledge of Allegiance.  To me, Nationalism, for its own sake, at least, seems dangerous.  I know that there will be those that would call me unpatriotic because of my views.  All I can do is say that I have served in our military, I pay my taxes without bitching about it, I stay involved in the political process, and i vote.  I consider myself a good citizen.  That said….

An almost perfect quote showed up today on my homepage:

“A nation is a society united by delusions about its ancestry and by common hatred of its neighbors.”
– William Ralph Inge

Yeah, its cynical as hell…but perhaps not completely inaccurate.  Most people don’t have any real sense of our history, or any idea how we came to be what we are as a Nation.  We have had a good many heroes in the past, people who risked everything for their country.  We have people like that today, thank God.  But, there was also some evil shit involved as we evolved as a nation.  We rounded up people, took their land, obliterated their language and customs, and broke damn near every promise we made.  Its okay to say that.  It has to be okay to say that.

I didn’t mean to get sidetracked, as I really wanted to ask a question, one related to the antics over selecting the new and improved Speaker of the House.  I’ve read some pretty good accounts of what happened, and I’ve read some interesting commentary, some of it quite good, some of it shrill,  ludicrous and disingenous as hell:

With the Republicans not being good at dirty tricks, what’s the next step? Easy – create a margin of victory that is so overwhelming that no bribe, no misreading of parliamentary procedure, no attempt to override the will of the people will be successful. And, in this state with this electorate and strong, well-funded candidates on the heels of the buying of a RINO and the overturning of the valid election of Rosalind Kurita, we are on the precipice of doing just that. Our bench in deeper, our campaigns are run better, and we can win despite the ridiculous gerrymandered districts throughout the state. “ Rob Huddleston

Rob, you’re kidding, right?

I’ll admit I haven’t lived here long enough to know all the back stories and personal histories and petty vendettas that shape politics at the State level…but i know this:  If the Democratic Party of Tennessee asked me to sign a pledge OF ANY KIND, I would impolitely tell them to kiss my firm and remarkably well -toned ass.  Now, maybe, if the pledge was worded a certain way…say, something like:

I pledge to do my job to the best of my ability.  I pledge to stay loyal to the People of Tennessee and remain corruption free, and to put policy above partisanship.

Maybe I sign that one.

Didn’t we just go through several years of folks having to sign loyalty pledges to attend GOP events?  Isn’t the very act of pledging immediately putting you in opposition of your own intelligence and intuition?  Does anyone else out there find loyalty pledges alarming?

I think if you lead, and lead carefully yet confidently, people will follow.  Demanding that they do so up front seems so….needy.

Like I said, sometimes, you get out-manuvered in politics.  Happens to our side, then it happens to your side.  Trying to pre-emptively insure things go your way by strong-arming the people on your side of the aisle isn’t leadership, whether you have a (D) or an (R) next to your name.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Pledges? We Don’t Need No Stinking Pledges

  1. W

    I agree. Seems silly for them to think he’s a traitor for violating a pledge they had to threaten him into signing. Also seems pretty nasty to force them all into voting for someone other than who the leadership dictates. If he votes for a democrat, fine kick him out. If he votes for a republican different from who you wanted, then you probably should have found a better candidate in the first place. Maybe a candidate who doesn’t need bullying to get votes.

  2. southernbeale

    “With the Republicans not being good at dirty tricks ….

    Ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ………. Oh that’s a good one. Hey Rob, Karl Rove just called. He wants to send you his resume …

  3. NH

    SO you prefer to pledge allegiance to the UN’s one world government? Shame on you.

  4. Actually, NH, I really prefer to pledge allegiance to nothing at all.

  5. democommie

    Mack:

    Me too, but how can we do that? It’s like an atheist praying for guidance.

Leave a Reply

