Just When I Thought I Was Out…

pacino They pull me back in.

I thought I said i didn’t want to write about politics!  I guess some stuff is in the works, so I’m not going to say too much.  Just this:  If the TNDP doesn’t address corruption in our Party, we deserve to keep losing.  If the TNDP doesn’t allow the State Republicans to self-destruct with their myopic agenda, and focus on infrastructure, financial literacy, jobs, wages, water/air quality, education, etc., then we deserve to keep losing.

Let them ride roughshod over women’s rights.  Let them build a wall around the State to keep out scary brown people.  Go ahead and make English the official language.

Seriously, why pursue a failed legislative agenda that doesn’t address real issues?  We can reverse or scale back the most egregious human rights issues once we’ve convinced the majority of Tennessee voters that we deserve their trust.

Or, we can just keep letting them put us in a box where they control the narrative.  But what do I know?

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Just When I Thought I Was Out…

  1. I have been wondering about this, too. What happens when the Republicans control everything and things still aren’t better for people? Isn’t there some kind of “put up or shut up” moment for voters? I don’t know.

    The Dems sure do need to clean our house well.

    But I also think that it’s pretty easy to see some very fundamental mistakes being made very early on.

    Did you see this?

    I’m going to write about this later, because I find it fascinating. Here’s this guy saying “We have to pass SJR 127 first thing, because Tennesseans expect a pro-life vote.” And yet, if Tennesseans expect to see actual anti-abortion legislation…

    Well, this doesn’t do it. It does nothing to limit abortions in Tennessee right now. It only matters if they somehow manage to get Roe v. Wade overturned.

    So, yes, I can see how that lets them make some gesture about abortion, but I wonder if it has the potential to backfire–“We put you in office so that you could maybe, someday, if everything goes right, outlaw abortion?”

    I don’t know.

  2. democommie

    Oh, it’s about politics? Sorry, Mack.

Leave a Reply

