Not Even Close

As tempting as it is to mock both McCain’s canned answers and MSNBC’s parade of morons afterwards, I believe I’ll just say how pleased I was with Barack Obama’s performance last night.  There were two answers he gave that made me feel particularly gratified.  The first was when he was asked to define rich, and to assign a number.  After getting a light-hearted jab in at Rick Warren, he basically said $250,000 puts one in America’s top tier of wage earners.  I have been saying for years that at some point, after all the philosophizing and pontificating about taxes and other “class” issues, we must at some point come up with a figure.  We can establish a baseline and adjust from there.  It was gutsy to actually say it, particularly in a region of the country hit hard by the bursting of the real estate bubble.

I also applauded his assertion that it is incredibly irresponsible to suggest that we can “solve” our energy problems without first being ready and willing to make sacrifices.  I wish he had explored this more in depth, but at least someone is saying something besides “Drill here, Drill now”!

That said, there was plenty of pandering to go around.  I was glad to hear Obama state opposition to a Constitutional amendment that defines marriage.  I continue to be amazed by those that feel we should tweak that document to restrict the rights of citizens.  That said, though Obama may well possess some understanding of the issue of gay marriage, he made only a half-hearted attempt to highlight the struggles with which gay couples cope.  There is much more than authorized hospital visits at stake.  Part of the good fight to help “the least of us”, Senator Obama, is not to create more of those less than us.

I’ll probably re-watch both hours in the days to come, mainly to offer at least some balance to the gushing reviews by sound-bite dependent television “personalities.”  But I did want to offer what hit home with me as I watched last night, prone as I am to forgetting things these days.

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “Not Even Close

  1. I wish he had explored this more in depth, but at least someone is saying something besides “Drill here, Drill now”!

    Ok, that sentence makes me laugh laugh every time I think I about it. I wish I could say it was intentional.

  2. It seemed to me the sheep, at least in the live audience, were loving McCain’s “Cowboy” answers, much in the way they initially loved Bush and his “dead or alive” riding into town sheriff remarks.

    Saturday evening, I thought Obama did fine, except he reminded me of Kerry a little, which is not good because apparently most voters, or at least Rick Warren’s voters don’t want the smartest person for the job, they want the tough talking Cowboy.

    Both of them were shamelessly pandering to a group of people whose power in this country needs to be eradicated.

    Do you think they would have let an atheist or rabbi or mullah or priest or buddhist monk hold court with our next president on national television?

    America is becoming dangerously close to being a Christian nation, and our leaders need to step up to the plate and leave faith out of their run for the presidency.

    If I wanted to live under religious law, I’d go live in Saudi. Even Israel, “the Jewish state,” is more secular than America is now.

  3. PS–I want to be clear I know a Catholic Priest is a Christian, but many evangelical don’t consider them Christians, so apparently there’s also an elitist caste system going on with some of these evangelicals.

  4. Pingback: McCain Doesn’t Try To Hide The Scarlett Letter : Post Politics: Political News and Views in Tennessee

  5. democommie

    Ms Sharon Cobb:

    I call those folks KKKristians, because they, like the boys from Pulaski, wrap themselves in flag and cross to justify their hatefulness.

  6. democommie

    Ms Sharon Cobb:

    I always call those folks KKKristians, because they, like the boys from Pulaski, wrap themselves in flag and cross to justify their hatefulness.

  7. democommie

    Sorry, bout that. It said it didn’t take the first time.

  8. Sure, Demo, just come in and trash my site.

Leave a Reply

