If Cats Get Nine, He Deserves Ten

Some of you will remember ARAS and hIs Mother from this pic taken a day before she died. There was little time to mourn her, as Aras was a newborn, and had to be fed round the clock. The whole family took turns preparing his formula and getting up every four hours that entire Summer. Fortunately, his mother had seen to it that she gave him just enough colostrum to get his immune system established. He made it, and is a healthy two yr old.

We may yet lose him, and possibly our entire herd. One of the horses managed to break into the can where i keep their feed, and they ate close to ten pounds of 11% sweet feed apiece. 5 pounds can be catastrophic. I immediately called our vet, and we sedated them all and ran a tube through their noses into their stomachs to pump the full of mineral oil. The hope is that by coating what is in their stomachs, they will pass it quickly instead of having it rot and making them founder. We will also have to keep a close eye on them for the next three days or so, and try to keep them on their feet.

I’ll have to administer other meds on a regular basis for a week or so, but the rule of thumb is three days and you’re out of the woods. I’m a nervous wreck. He’s only two.

9 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

9 responses to “If Cats Get Nine, He Deserves Ten

  1. aw, man…I’m sad to hear about this turn of events…I definitely will be thinking about you and hoping they all get through this.

  2. democommie

    Mack:

    Good luck.

  3. I’m so sorry. I of course am praying that it all works out okay, but you know how that “praying” thing goes…;-p

    Seriously, I trust that all will be well.

  4. Shit, Kat, pray away. Atheists/foxholes and all that.

  5. Mack, I really hope the herd pulls through. Poor guys.

  6. Oh god Mack, I am so sorry and will be thinking good thoughts & sending good karma northeastward. Having seen him and heard his story in person, it especially breaks my heart to think this gorgeous creature is in danger. I hope things turn out OK.

  7. The Missus

    So sorry to hear about this, I hope they all recover.

  8. cretinoidrobot

    I’m so sorry to hear about this, Rick. I’ve got a special place in my heart for Tirrc, and he’ll be in my thoughts (you too).

Leave a Reply

