My Favorite Movie Line

In the movie “48 hours”, a guy goes to get a car he has had garaged in a public parking lot, and when he presents his ticket, the garage employee says “This car has been here for three years!” The guy gets irritated and yells back “Yea, I’ve been BUSY.”

That makes me laugh every time I see it.

Anyway, I have been under the gun with this addition on the house, but actually got it framed up and dried in in less than three days. That, my friends, is an accomplishment, given the massive structure that it is.

Sorry I haven’t posted much, but PLEASE go take a look at what is posted over at Hispanic Nashville.

Sometimes, I’m embarrassed for this country.

14 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

14 responses to “My Favorite Movie Line

  1. democommie

    Mack:

    You’re done with your framing job? Good, come up here and help me!!

    I scanned that article. Isn’t CCA the name that a former big player in the cartage industry went by (Container Corp. of America) ? I wish I believed in hell, then I would wish for a special sort of hell for the soulless ghouls who profit by imprisoning and KILLING innocent people.

  2. One of my favorite car-related lines is from Stripes: “We’re not parking it. We’re abandoning it.”

    CCA has been a nightmare in Youngstown since the 1990s.

  3. Demo, its amazing how having a daily plan keeps a construction project moving along. Tying in two roofs, with 24 ft rafters is tricky, yet, we got it done in record time. Now is the finish work.

    A better idea is for you to come here, and help me turn this place into somethin. When can you be here?

  4. nm

    So you’ve moved on to finishing the chicken coop now?

  5. nm

    And why do we all have quilt avatars?

  6. This reminds me that i’ve got to get a copy of “Big Trouble in Little China”

  7. woody

    My favorite movie line from Mony Python Holy Grail:

    King – Please! Please good people! I am in haste. Who lives in that castle?
    Peasant 1 – No one lives there.
    K – Then who is your lord?
    P1 – We don’t have a lord.
    K – What?
    Peasant 2 – I told you, we’re an anarco-syndicalist commune. We take it in turns to act as a sort of executive officer for the week. But all the decisions of that officer must be ratified at a special bi-weekly meeting; by a simple majority in the case of purely internal affairs-
    K – Be quiet!
    P2 – but by a two-thirds majority in the case of more serious-
    K – Be quiet! I order you to be quiet!
    P1 – Order, eh? Who does he think he is? Ha!
    K – I am your king!
    P1 – Well I didn’t vote for you.

    As a former resident of one of CCA’s fine establishments, I can only say..they suck.

  8. The quilt pieces are autogenerated identicons for people supposedly without regular avatars. You can turn them off in your Dashboard — Settings (off to the right), Discussion. You can also give people groovy little monsters if you want. I’d just like the WordPress staff to quit fucking around with my space unless I ask them to do so.

  9. Oh cool. Now I’ve got horns!

  10. democommie

    Bridgett:

    As shy and retiring as you are, I bet if you might be able to make an impression on the nice folks at Word Press.

    Mack:

    Sorry, no can do. All my summer clothes are in boxes on the second floor. I found that out right after I ripped out the staircase.

    24′ rafters? not trusses? God, those must’ve been some heavy units.

    I just jacked one of my beams another 1/2 ” or so. The beams are old and anwhere from 6×9 to 9×9. I’m putting in about six flitch/box beams from 12-16′ long. It goes slower when you’re by your onesies.

  11. I’ve always pictured you with horns, bridgett.

  12. Demo, incredibly heavy. My house has trusses throughout, but I had to use a shed type roof to cover a large deck…tying in the 12-8 and 10-8 pitched roofs into the new one was a bit of a head scratcher.

    I know what you mean about being by yourself. When I built the barn, I damn near killed myself setting 16′ 6×6 posts. Almost impossible to stay square. In fact, I was 7″ off and had to taper the roof to fit. FUN.

    Ex, I like your hairdo.

  13. democommie

    Mack:

    You are, no doubt talking about 6×6, 16′ PT SYP posts–they weigh in about the same as I-beams of comparable size! I jacked a barn for a guy once and had to put 8×8 PT Hem/Fir posts under the main beams in the cellar. When they showed up on a truck from the lumber yard, the driver said “Where’s your crew” . I said ,”You and me”. He said it couldn’t be done. It took all of fifteen minutes. Of course that was BEFORE I knew I had a couple of ruptured discs.

Leave a Reply

