The Silence is Deafening

I really wanted to be done with this whole subject, it played out badly for everyone, and was just wrong from the jump.  But I feel the need to point out that WKRN never chimed in, and that bothers me.  I so wanted to see management step up in support of Brittney, and address the criticisms head-on.  To a non-regular reader, it could look like the station “eased” her on out.  In fact, the more I sit here and think about it, the angrier I get.  Why not at least throw up a post acknowledging her tremendous work and that the Station will miss her contributions?  Even her political adversaries wrote some shocked and disappointed posts about her departure.  Kleinheider was classy enough to acknowledge Brittney’s work on his behalf.  I’m glad Kat is filling in, but I wish they had waited a day, then posted some response to all the bloggers that contribute and read everyday.  We are, after all, the lifeblood of NiT.

Anyone else feel the same way?

24 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

24 responses to “The Silence is Deafening

  1. The management of the station is new. Brand new; like a week old.

    I don’t think the new GM has gotten time to know Brittney or fully assess her contributions. Had Mike Sechrist still been the GM things might have been handled totally differently.

    As it is now, we the community need to win over the new GM–not vice versa.

    Per the producer’s wishes, NiT was dark yesterday. We didn’t want to leave it dark today as well; the best “response to the community” was to continue to support the community by continuing to exist.

    There were many folks who said, over and over again, that they thought NiT was dead. Had it remained dark for 36 hours it might be dead indeed.

  2. Though I see Kat’s point in the comment above, I admit that I watched Channel 5 this morning instead of 2.

  3. I see Kat’s point, but the cutesy videos with cryptic messages in the top right are getting old already.

  4. I’m well aware that there is a new manager on board, Kat, but not everyone there is new, and he/she has been around long enough to have read it a few times, and surely, any manager worth his/her salt would have discussed Brittney’s and Kleinheider’s performance with Sechrist before he left, right? I would have. It wasn’t dark yesterday, btw, unless I was hallucinating, I could have sworn I saw your first post long before I retired for the day.

    I agree, though, that the new Manager will have to made to see the contributions of NiT to the local web-based community.

  5. My first post was made at 1:36am, in anticipation of my not being awake for 7:00am coffee readers.

    No posts were made between B’s resignation and that post at 1:00am.

    I agree, though, that the new Manager will have to made to see the contributions of NiT to the local web-based community.

    More importantly, she will have to be made to see the contributions of NiT to the WKRN bottom line. When you write the checks you need to see what your money buys you.

    the cutesy videos with cryptic messages in the top right are getting old already.

    Agreed.

  6. Malia

    The thing is, even when Mike was still there he was very “hands off” with NiT. We saw a lot of Brittney linking to the WKRN blogs (like Mikes’s, Neil’s, Joe’s, etc, etc) but you rarely saw any of the staff (with except of the cryptic News2 Action Dog person) ever comment or participate in the discussion and community of NiT.

    Personally, I always felt that was a downfall for the site. Local people like to put local personalities on a pedastal. Fans of WKRN personalities read those blogs but from what I can tell, not many of them ever participated at NiT community/discussion. I think if the entire station could have gotten behind the effort, things could have turned out much differently for Brittney. Not just in the past controversary but in the whole way NiT is viewed by the Nashville community and the World Wide Web.

  7. I think if the entire station could have gotten behind the effort, things could have turned out much differently for Brittney. Not just in the past controversary but in the whole way NiT is viewed by the Nashville community and the World Wide Web.

    I think the ghetto-ising of the NiT experiment has been self-limiting on the part of WKRN. They have a ready-made tool for community integration and enhanced ratings, but have been too gunshy to use it properly. There ARE promo spots in the guise of brief title-card interstitials, but nothing which really integrates the two media forms, aside from Brittney’s Friday Afternoon piece.

    I would think that a more proactive folding in of the NiT platform with the standard newscast would foster the ratings-boom WKRN is seeking. Have the announcers say “talk about your reactions to X story on our blog, Nashville Is Talking.” When people feel INVOLVED with the news, they watch the news. Period.

  8. Have the announcers say “talk about your reactions to X story on our blog, Nashville Is Talking.”

    I have heard them do this before.

    I’m a little miffed that they took the Flickr badge down. I started posting the pics I have with Brittney in them, and suddenly it went away.

    Yep, it’s a new day at NiT, and the powers that be wasted no time in taking Brittney’s stamp off of it as quickly as possible.

  9. I’m a little miffed that they took the Flickr badge down. I started posting the pics I have with Brittney in them, and suddenly it went away.

    I think they had to do this because the flickr badge was to Brittney’s personal account, and B no longer has any editing privileges on the site.

  10. I’m with Mack totally on this. I understand what Kat is saying, but there are enough people at that station who know what Brittney did and understand what she went through. It would show some class. They don’t have to believe in NIT to show that.

  11. Back in the fall, one of the Channel 2 on air guys came to one of Terry’s shows. He was really, really nice. The thing that made me not like him was when I told him I was involved in NiT. He put his hand up and said, “Look, I think blogging is fine for people who are into that, but, I am not interested in blogging.” Okie dokie. It was almost like it was a pat answer. It struck me as odd.

  12. Yea, Sista, that kills me too. They are all, “sniff, bloggers aren’t journalists, really.”

    Then they go cover the world’s largest dung pile at the zoo.

    Too funny.

  13. Mack, I concur. I would have likes to have seen some station acknowledgment or input.

  14. The cryptic messages continue. I got a bulletin from WKRN in MySpace announcing Brittney’s resignation and saying, “Within a week or so, I’m sending out a special request for help with an online project we are launching that makes you the star of the show! More to come…” along with that wave video.

  15. PS-How do you not have SuperMousey in your list of blogs? And what does a girl have to do to get her nickname changed? 🙂

  16. Working in the media, although a very small town version, I can personally say that traditional media doesn’t really value blogging.
    Now with that said, that is my opinion, but it’s what I hear from a lot of my peers. I think Jack Lail, BBeanster, John Carney, Frank Strovell and I are exceptions in Tennessee. We see value and opportunity. Others don’t.
    But then, maybe I missed some other folks.
    I do know my publishers really do not like the whole blogging thing, but their main competition just started an online blogging community on their home website which seems to be gaining a lot of support.
    I do think that WKRN does need to just make a statement about it.

  17. “Within a week or so, I’m sending out a special request for help with an online project we are launching that makes you the star of the show! More to come…”

    Just a guess, but it sounds like maybe they’re planning on not hiring another full-time employee and letting it run with a guest blogger every day?

  18. PS-How do you not have SuperMousey in your list of blogs? And what does a girl have to do to get her nickname changed?

    He’s got her over there under “My daughter’s journal”, Rach.

    And I don’t think you have a hope in hell of getting him to stop calling you Debbie Downer, he enjoys that too much. 😀

  19. Ah, good catch Lynnster. I was browsing alphabetically, and did not stop on “M.” And I’m posting something tonight on deaths from West Nile going up just for him. 🙂
    Re: not hiring another full-time employer, I think that’s a terrible idea if they really want the site to continue, because I think it needs a certain level of consistency and ownership of a moderator. I somehow doubt they would continue the existing scheme of guest-blogger payment in that case, as well.

  20. I also hope it’s not some video-only scheme, because that will limit the number of people who can be or want to be engaged with the site.

  21. I was thinking they’d probably offer it up as an unpaid volunteer thing, but again, that’s just me projecting.

    I can see some advantages to rotating people and there are, of course, many pros to having a full-time owner/moderator/manager. And cons with both, of course, too.

    I was thinking the other day (and again, this is just me projecting again) that maybe having two or three or even four people that became “permanent” but rotated days would probably be a semi-decent solution. Probably without the full-time pay and benefits (and the requirement to be in the newsroom at all times) but you know, the idea of taking two or three or four who have a good bit of guestblogging experience and offering them something to do it. Like Coble and Roger Abramson, or Coble and Roger and B., or something along those lines. And then they could still have fill-in guest bloggers sometimes too.

    Like I said, just me projecting and guessing. If it were up to me, I’m not exactly sure what I would think was the absolute best thing to do about it right now.

  22. Lynnster,
    I agree that a couple of regulars would be good. The MySpace message just sounded too much like tossing it into the wind to suit me.

  23. Yeah… I’ll have to check that out (the MySpace missive) tonight, I’m sure I got one too…

  24. Well said, Mack.

    I was amazed the management simply did not close the comments section down on Brit’s last post, that none of the new crew bothered to say “we reluctantly accept her resigination.” Or if not close the comments for that post, then how about editing it to remove the I Hate Southerners comments and the She’s A Bitch noise.

    All that seems to point to either a deeply inexperienced management or one that hopes to kill of NiT altogether.

Leave a Reply

