I Am Afraid

Malala Yousafzai is 14 yrs old, and is lying in a hospital bed,  fighting for her life.  She was forcibly removed from her school bus and shot in the head by the local Taliban.  I won’t rehash the entire story, you can read it here.

She was a blogger, and a recent post was titled: ” I Am Afraid”

This young girl knew that by openly advocating for educational opportunities for women, she could be targeted by extremists, and of course she was.  The word courageous doesn’t cut it.

I just don’t know what to say.  I’m furious.  I’m heartsick for her and her family.  I want the bastards that did it and those who authorized it strung up and set on fire.

Maybe I’ll write more about this once I’ve calmed down.  Right now, everything I start to write has a “slippery slope of religious extremism” angle and sounds too mean-spirited.

Sorry.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “I Am Afraid

  1. democommie

    Afghanistan, the meeting place of bronze age morals and nuclear age weaponry–what could possibly go wrong with giving such people the ability to wage war across SW Asia and the rest of the world. Thanks, Ronnie Raygunz; thanks a lot.

Leave a Reply

