Obligatory New Years Post

I read a lot of blogs.  Someone once asked me what kind of people engage in blogging, and I really couldn’t offer a simple explanation.  Maybe one thing we all have in common is that we are people unafraid to share our thoughts with total strangers.  Beyond that, I’m not sure what makes us invest the required time and energy on this “hobby.”  Sure, some do it for ad revenue, and some because they have a particular agenda they want to advance.  In the beginning, the Coyote Chronicles was a place for me to rant about the excesses of the Bush administration.  Two elective wars and a budget- busting tax cut for the wealthy was motivation enough.  It wasn’t really supposed to be a political blog, but once some local aggregators picked me up there was no turning back.  I had readers.  Before long, I was making friends, and then MeetUp came along, and I was able to get to know other bloggers and many remain friends today.

I’m actually proud of the fact that I have been doing this for so long.  Rarely do I go without posting for very long,  though there are times when I must step back and clear my internal cache, so to speak, and just observe without comment.  Sometimes, I may feel strongly about a given subject, but am unable to write a readable post about it and by the time I can, the issue at hand is no longer timely.  So, there are gaps but by and large I feel that I can point to my body of “work” here with some pride and I make no apologies for the content or lack thereof.

On to 2012.  Finally.  What can I say?  I’m happy to be alive and surrounded by family and friends and I look forward to another year of trying to make myself a better person.  I’ve made some progress, I’m happy to report.  There is still work to do.  I’m doing a bit of consulting this year and I am excited about that, I’ve conquered some challenges here on the farm, and I am ready to apply my experience to something that does not involve tractors or chain saws.

So, I’ll stay at it in 2012.  Hope y’all stick around as well.

 

 

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “Obligatory New Years Post

  1. Happy new year. I posted pictures of pets on my blog for the new year. I really feel like I’ve got nuthin’ right now.

  2. I may just have to go there, Beale.

  3. Happy New Year Tennesseans,

    Here’s something worth knowing. Thanks to the leap year, the vernal equinox occurs on March 20th again. My southwestern rim faces the back side of Mount Soledad in La Jolla behind which the sun drops and hides for about two minutes before it actually sets over the sea. My wife and I made the first crude measurements for our own Stonehenge December 22nd some time past 4:30 p.m. We celebrated with cider and cake as I was due at church for choir rehearsal. I had already chosen and marked a fixed point as our focus. We will eventually install a sundial at this point. We pulled a cord tight and marked the radius of the setting sun on solstice due west by southwest with two stakes, one slightly further out than the first. We were wondering what sort of permanent markers we should use to measure the two solstices and the equinox point?. A notch is preferable. Two flagstones on end? Two-by-fours with a little roof? Very important stuff!

    Also last night, the moon appeared to have successfully reeled in Jupiter close enough to grab it.

  4. All of us are also looking forward to trying to make you into a better person. Other than that, I’m thinking about linking to Beale’s cats.

  5. FJ, I’ll admit that I like me some cannabis….but I’d have to have my bong on hyper-drive to even begin to understand the nature of your question, and it seems to me

    Wait, what were we talking about?

  6. Mack:

    Since you’re not feelin’ the need for your tractor and chainsaws right now, howzabout you UPS ‘em to me. I got some work to do in the cellar and I’m training for the 2012 Darwin Award team from Oswego. We’ve already got a guy who likes to clean his shotgun without checking the bore; a gal who likes to have toast while she’s bathing and we had a person, Studly Dooright who was our chainsaw juggler, but now we all call him, “Stumpy”.

  7. I am so curious how much it costs to UPS a tractor.

  8. Yeah, you’re right, it’s better if you just tow it up. Make sure it’s fulla gas!

Leave a Reply

