Don’t Pet The Sweaty Stuff

You ever had one those little episodes in your life that isn’t quite an epiphany, but just a moment of clarity that offers some much needed perspective, and therefor relief?  Yea, me neither.

So I tried my best to watch the results come in from Wisconsin, but of course by the time they began to trickle in, I was getting pretty sleepy.  Unfortunately, I didn’t sleep well, what with not knowing how it went.  I tossed and turned, and even dreamed that I knew the results.  So at 4:00 a.m. I’m up, sitting with my lap-top and pouring over the results, precinct by precinct.  We “lost.”  By that I mean we didn’t pick up enough seats to regain control of the State Senate.  Also, we “won”.  By that I mean the process inspired Dems in other States to organize and perhaps even provided a model for 2012.  We’ll see.  But I did realize that in the grand scheme of things, nothing that happened last night in Wisconsin means very much.  My view of politics has changed dramatically, (shaped in part, I’m sure by the fact that I am pretty jaded) and I will not allow myself to wallow in misery when things don’t go as I’d like, or to celebrate too much when they do.  There is other work to do.

Yes, I’ve been away from this blog for awhile.  It isn’t that I didn’t have time or desire, it’s just that every time I sat down and started to bang something out…it all seemed so ………petty.  I can’t fully explain that.

This week I hope to write about some recent experiences with banks and General Contractors.  I’ve met some true professionals and I’ve endured some real hucksters, but by and large the experience has been more than positive.

I watched “Empire Falls” this morning, and I really loved it.  Ed Harris was great, (as was Helen Hunt) but it was the story that had me tearing up just a bit.  Ha, I’m a softy.

More later, I believe I’ve gotten past my aversion to writing inane stream of consciousness posts.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Don’t Pet The Sweaty Stuff

  1. Char

    A beautiful thing happened yesterday in Wisconsin. I don’t see any misery to wallow in. The Dem’s there won 2 out of six, now maybe the can reshape the legislation coming out of the state senate, maybe. The beautiful thing is they FOUGHT! Sometimes you win, sometimes you lose, if you don’t fight, the R’s will put in box and kick you to the curb.

  2. Cyn

    Hey, Mack, I kind of know where you are coming from. I, too, have become a bit jaded. I see the good and the bad of the Democratic party and no longer have the will to sign every petition or change every voter’s mind, as I can’t really sell something to someone when I am not sure if that politician will deliver. I guess with me, it’s just trying to figure out who will do the least damage. I dislike the cheer-leading on both sides. I try to stay informed and the more informed I am, the more jaded I become. I am really anxious for a 3rd party – one that is not beholden to corporations, campaign finance and term limits. Until then, I stay on the sidelines and probably vote Green. In any case, that’s where I am in this whole process. Hope you and yours are well.

Leave a Reply

