Order Restored

I’m not particularly squeamish, I mean, I’ve seen my fair share of nasty things.  That said, the cesspool that is the comments section over at Post Politics more often than not drove me away.  Both vicious and amateurish, the trolls there succeeded in drowning out any reasonable discussion.  It should be painfully obvious that many of them were either paid operatives or kool-aid swilling volunteers, as evidenced by their absence this evening over at PP.  I’m assuming they are attending either victory or concession parties, and therefor unable to post comments.   There will be hangovers tomorrow.

I’m glad Haslam won.  I’m not excited about the Democrat he’ll face in November, and I will probably not vote.  (It isn’t enough to don the team jersey and fall in line anymore)  If Haslam had lost, I’d be forced to devote time and money making sure the other two candidates were defeated, as I really believed they would have embarrassed this State at every opportunity.  (Not to mention enduring the draconian cuts they would enacted as Governor)  It will be interesting to see if Haslam embraces the crazy or just writes checks and plays golf.

As I write this, it looks like Ben Leming will not be the Democratic nominee against Diane Black.  I just don’t think he had the time to raise the all important TV money to win.  He worked his ass off, and I have nothing but respect for him and the handful of dedicated people that ran his campaign.  He is gutsy and smart, and I think he will do well in the private sector.  I don’t expect him to run for office again, though I could be wrong.  I know nothing of Mr. Carter, except that he is a former Marine and an attorney.  Its entirely possible that some Democrats decided he looked older and more seasoned, and therefor a better candidate to square off against Diane Black.  Fair enough.

Congrats to Steve Cohen.

Two votes separate Yarbro and Henry?  Yikes.

Guess we’ll all know more in the morning.

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “Order Restored

  1. When you say you won’t vote, I DO hope you mean you won’t vote in that race.

    I’m sure the Democrat running for Congress could use your vote.

  2. Yes, of course. McWherter might still earn my vote, but I doubt it.

  3. Pingback: Morning Hangover – Shelby Shocker Edition | Speak to Power

  4. gregg

    Mack you and your comrades are wandering around Davy Crockett Dixieland hoping some left winger will get elected to something? I picture you as Tom Cruise in the remake of War of The Worlds. You are hunkered in the basement with crazy Tim Robins as the space creatures bear down on you and you are saying “well maybe they’ll support a single payer system some day?”;

    Get a grip son, move to the Bronx immediately and go to work for the Transit Authority!

  5. Yeah, I won’t be voting for Ned Jr. either. If it wasn’t enough that he’s as exciting as a basket of farts, I bring personal reasons into it as well. (Daddy’s people fired me, which was sorta expected given the situation, but then the vindictive bastards used their influence and control to keep me from being hired at another job. That whole family can rot in hell for all I care.)

  6. democommie

    jim:

    Your comment takes me somewhat aback. I have always read your blog and comments on others and thought of you as being the absolute soul of probity and unfailingly polite. And then I read a comment like the one you just posted and I say:

    “DAMN–there’s hope for the man yet! Spit in their eyes and shit in their hats, piss on the fire and call in the dogs! “

  7. Demo, yep, that’s me. A walking contradiction. I try to give people the benefit of the doubt, but when they screw me …

  8. Mack

    Jim, that’s a story I’d like to hear one day.

Leave a Reply

