Hippocrates Wept

Imagine walking up to a doctor’s office and seeing this sign on the door:

According to the story in the Orlando Sentinel, Dr. Jack Cassell defends the offensive  sign by stating “I’m not turning anybody away — that would be unethical,” Dr. Jack Cassell, 56, a Mount Dora urologist and a registered Republican opposed to the health plan, told the Orlando Sentinel on Thursday. “But if they read the sign and turn the other way, so be it.”

I showed this to the Primary Wife, and she said it was obvious to her that the good doctor didn’t go into medicine for the medicine.

It just proves to me that the deference shown to doctors is not always deserved.  It just so happens there are more than a few doctors in my Rolodex(take THAT,kids!) so I made a few calls to see if what most of them thought about this.  Wow.  Poll this group about anything else, and you’d be hard pressed to reach a consensus.  But on this, they were in complete and total agreement…Unethical, irresponsible, bordering on criminal.

I would hope that those with a higher level of education would understand that fostering division in our country is harmful to everyone.  In the modern version of the Hippocratic Oath, this line stands out:

I will remember that I remain a member of society, with special obligations to all my fellow human beings, those sound of mind and body as well as the infirm

I think we should all be mindful of that, but especially those entrusted with our health and well-being.

I believe I’ll write the man a note reminding him of his obligations.

9 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

9 responses to “Hippocrates Wept

  1. democommie

    Mack:

    A note, my ass, let’s take it viral. What a dickhead.

  2. democommie

    Mack:

    I should have added that it would be deliciously ironic if the doctor’s Beemer was t-boned by some country club drunk on the way home and the local rescue squad, upon discovering who he was, decided to take the scenic route to the hospital.

  3. Travel

    I don’t really think I would respond well with a republican urologist diagnosing, poking and prodding my dangely-bit region anyway. The GOP seems to wreak havoc on people’s southern region even before Obama-care.

  4. Demo, your disdain is well documented.

    Travel, good safety tip, so to speak.

  5. Someone who gets their politics confused with their obligation to help those in need … hmm, reminds me of those Catholic bishops refusing Communion to Democrats.

    Imagine what the right wingers would say if liberal doctor put a similar note on their door, barring conservatives? Oh, my.

  6. We’d take our business elsewhere, and not try to get big daddy government to make our boo boo better by forcing a man to change how he runs his business.

  7. democommie

    Exador:

    I used to have a dentist who was extremely rightwing in his political views. I was less to the left then I am now, but we did not agree on politics or religion. He was a consummate professional who not only treated all of his patients with courtesy and efficiency but also did a lot of pro bono work while railing against welfare and the “shiftless bums” who received it.

  8. democommie

    “I believe I’ll write the man a note reminding him of his obligations.”

    If you have to do that, Mack, you won’t be reminding him–because he apparently didn’t absorb that part of his training.

  9. Then I’ll write to Obama’s goon-squad and have him “disappeared”.

Leave a Reply

