Stepping Up

I’m incredibly busy these days, who knew it would be so hard to spend 100k of someone else’s money?  I swear, its work.  More on that later.  I did, however, find the time to read this thoughtful and indeed necessary article.  I hope theres some follow-up.  Two spot on passages:

So, why are Christians so willing to believe unsubstantiated rumors? And more troubling, why are Christians, who should hold the highest standards of truth-telling, so eager to spread such rumors — and even downright libels?

“In general, we need to help Christians act like Christians in public life and not just in private life, and not to get sucked into the polarization, partisan idolatry and demonization so common now in media and government,”

H/T:  TPM

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “Stepping Up

  1. democommie

    That boy keeps writin’ that sorta Satanic drivel, he’ll be editin’ the “Outhouse News” afore he knows what hit ‘im!

    Seriously, it is refreshing to see solid evidence that not all religionists are as crazy as their outliars. Having said that, it is as wrong as wrong gets for them to not publicly denounce the idiots who DO believe and propagate that sort of nonsense. Unless of course the masterplan is to have the KKKristian Taliban marginalize the merely credulous folks with the violently delusional cretins who push such memes as “Obama is a Kenyan commie!”

  2. democommie

    Mack:

    OT, but how come when I was visitin’ with you last spring we didn’t do none of that cool “anvil shootin” that jim voorhies has the videos of over on his blog? I mean, I’m a guy, I like blowin’ shit the hell up and if you do it right you can get a “Darwin” in addition to any other notice you might garner from your local constabulary and DHS.

  3. democommie

    I meant to add that when Anvil shooting is outlawed only outlaws will be shooting anvils.

  4. Demo, been hittin that Canadian whiskey? Is it already that cold up there?

    We can shoot anything you want to, on yer next visit.

  5. democommie

    Mack:

    No Canadian; I do have a nice bottle of Flor de Cana Rum (Nicaraugan). It’s actually close to 60 at the moment, but winter is prowling around just across the lake.

  6. Oh, man. If I had a dollar for every time one of my relatives or neighbors forwarded me that bogus “Democrats want to outlaw Christmas carols on TV” thing …

    What I don’t understand is why Christians (and senior citizens) have yet to discover Snopes.com!

  7. democommie

    Mack:

    OT, but I thought you might like to know.

    http://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/us_trouble_in_taos

  8. democommie

    Mack is that new gravatar up there because I got old, over the weekend?

  9. On a personal level, I’ve had more rumors spread about me in the blog world in TN. than anyone else, and I swear to anyone, I’ve done nothing to deserve it, and it has caused me great pain. And one of the people spreading them claims to be a Christian–who spreads them with her pagan friend.
    And I’ve been nothing but gracious to both and they literally make up lies about me. Why?
    It hits me in the gut, not to mention causes me friendships with others because people actually believe them.
    Why?
    I don’t think I’ll get my answers.
    And as far as the rumors Lisa was talking about, she’s absolutely right. Why don’t people look at Snopes? Personally, I think they do look and choose to ignore it because they want to believe the lies–Snopes would take away their justification to hate and spread lies.

  10. Mack

    Sorry, guys, I’m without internet access at the moment. Phone lines snapped and well, ATT isn’t very responsive. I’m at a Hampton Inn at the moment. Back later!

Leave a Reply

