Paid To Incite?

Damn.  It seems Mr. Kleinheider over at Post Politics has created quite the dust-up with this post. For me, there is a more troubling aspect to this than the argument over whether it was “insensitive”, overtly racist, or perfectly within bounds.  Anyone who reads his blog on a regular basis knows darn well that Adam loves him some snarky headlines.  He often editorializes with them, and, occasionally, he’ll strike comedy gold.  OK, not really, but I’ve seen some clever ones.

All too often I’ve come away from his place, (and, unfortunately, from Pith as well) with a bad taste in my mouth.  I really despise cruelty, and there is so much of it on blogs these days I’m convinced that it confirms what many already think about people who blog.  I, for one, would love to know what Adam’s job description is over at Post Politics.  Or, for that matter, Brantley Hargrove over at Pith.  Two local people who have paid blogging gigs, and it seems to me that the emphasis is traffic for traffic’s sake.  Is that it?  “Just drive people here, anyway you can.”

Almost everyone who comments regularly, (and some who do not) chimed in today to ask or demand that Adam change the headline on that post.  Now, one commenter suggested that doing so is really not in the best interests of the digital media, and that makes some sense to me, but, couldn’t he simply update the post and apologize for his insensitivity at least?  I’d gain a lot of respect for him were he to do so.  I can’t speak for the others that were offended, but it seems to me that saying “I’m sorry” would soothe much of the anger over this.

Can’t ya do that, ACK?

UPDATE:  Kleinheider issues a statement that looks like an apology, I suppose.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Paid To Incite?

  1. Pingback: Six Words I Can’t Take Back : Post Politics: Political News and Views in Tennessee

  2. Coble

    You should probably, in the interest of not being cruel, update this post to reflect that he has apologised.

Leave a Reply

