You Deserve More

Dad, you’ve been gone almost thirty years.  There have been a few changes in my life since we last spoke.  Wish i had time to write a more thoughtful, reflective post today…but I don’t have the time or energy after, well, being a Dad all day.  Just took my own kids to the beach, and every time I do I think about Mexico or Oregon or even the quick trips we made together to trout fish in the California mountains.  I make it a point to show my kids as much of the world as time and money permit, mostly because i think they will remember after I am gone.

Anyway, its a shame we can’t sit and have a conversation right now.  I can honestly tell you that after 52 years, i still think you are the smartest person I’ve ever known.  You were also terribly flawed as a person, and truth be told, one of those is also true of me.   :)

So, just a note to let you know I am thinking about you.  Say hey to Mom.  You guys do get the internet up there right?  I’m thinkin its probably fast as hell too.  Ha.

Love,

Mack

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “You Deserve More

  1. democommie

    Mack:

    Well said. My dad’s been gone 37 years this November, and I still miss him. Of course, given his history– if he was still around–what a pain in the ass he would be to deal with.

    When I was talking to my other brother’s about my brother Marty’s unexpected and sudden death, I said that if there is such a place as heaven my dad is probably up there, musing “Son-of-a-bitch, finally one of my sons shows up and wouldn’t y’know it’s Marty!”. The apple did not fall too far from the tree.

    I’ll drink a little tequila in your father’s honor, next time I’m near a bar. Say, what time is it?

  2. FYI, Demo, I got a nice bottle put up for your next visit….

  3. Welcome back, Mack! We missed you! Thanks for sharing your tribute to your dad.

    Dads are special. I still miss mine, it will be 12 years in December.

  4. democommie

    If you don’t already know about this website:

    http://www.marriedtothesea.com/index.php

    , check it out. The cartoon they ran today made me laugh pretty damned hard–I think I hurt myself!

Leave a Reply

