Last Stream Of Consciousness Post of 08

End of the year house-cleaning:

Music City Bowl Madness!  This town is on FIRE, baby! (ok, not so much)

I thought Vince Young looked pretty good on Sunday, considering the number of snaps he took this season.  I say we should be encouraged.

S-Town Mike should be ashamed of himself for using up all the available bandwidth of the internets with his goody two shoes reporting on the TVA disaster.  Otherwise, I’d be all over it.  (Southern Beale, you should feel some shame too, sister)

I have three good friends out of work.  Its hard to celebrate when people you care about are struggling.

Got to meet some bloggers last night that I have “known” for awhile, just never met.  That make any sense?  And may I say, that Christian G. is a cutie!

I think I can safely say that the mere act of inviting politically engaged bloggers to a meeting to discuss strategy is a positive step.  I heard some stuff that alarmed me, and i heard some stuff that encouraged me to stay involved.  In the beginning, the meeting suffered by having no outline, and no clear agenda.  Also, it was immediately apparent that elected officials and bloggers don’t always speak the same language, but overall, everyone there seemed intent on listening to us.  Perhaps one or two them ran home afterward, fired up their Commodore, dialed up the interweb, and recorded their thoughts onto Lotus SmartSuite word processor. ;)

Its been a rough year.  09 looks like it may be rougher.  Its hard to fight the urge to hunker down, stock up, and bow out.  (I don’t know how to hunker, exactly anyway) I know I’m making hard choices, and I’m about to make my kid’s lives miserable for awhile, as i demand that they take on more responsibility here at Coyote Creek.   But I have faith in them.

Wishing all of you a Happy New Year!

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Last Stream Of Consciousness Post of 08

  1. Aw, you’re just jealous, Mack!
    :-)

    It was good to see everyone last night. I’m trying to remain optimistic about the new year, and I wish you and your family the best in 2009. Happy blogging, all.

  2. Mack:

    Hunkering, much like sauntering, is nearly a lost art. I’m quite good at both and will be offering intertubular workshops in ’09. Those that want to can pre-register as soon as I get my offshore PayPal accounts set up.

    Happy New Year!

  3. I’ll register as soon as i get my bail-out money…

  4. Oh, damn, that was G-MAC not Mr. Mack that got the $21B today!

  5. I am so out of touch. Did someone else get a bailout?

    Whatever. Happy New Year, Mack!

  6. jim voorhies:

    GMAC, to the tune of a $21.? B “swap”. This is really becoming insane. Bailing out companies that were not only being run by supposed “experts” in their respective fields, but leaving the management teams in place is criminally stupid, imo.

Leave a Reply

