R.I.P. Gary (2003-2008)

We lost one of our cats today.  This morning, we discovered Gary was drooling and gasping for breath.  The Vet told us he had a very large tumor in his mouth that obstructed his airways, and that surgery might work for a while, but it

looked like an agressive form of cancer and he would probably not make it for more than a month anyway.  So, we picked up the kids at school, and as a family, said goodbye to one of the best cats ever.

He never once, in his whole life, raised a claw in anger.  Even when the kids were small and would hold him upside down, he just relaxed and went with it.  He was the best mouser I have ever seen.  One of the funniest memories I’ll have of him is him falling asleep under the bird feeder, and the birds standing on and around him and picking up loose seeds.  When he slept, he slept hard. He also would walk to the barn with me and hang out like a dog would, only quieter.

I’ll miss you, buddy, you were an easy going guy, and I’m happy you spent those years here with us.  Sleep well, Gary.

18 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

18 responses to “R.I.P. Gary (2003-2008)

  1. Sorry, Mack. That sucks.

  2. bridgett

    Yeah…losing a pet is bad. Hugs to you all.

  3. Shit. That sucks. :( Sorry for your loss.

  4. nm

    Oh, I’m sorry.

  5. heartbreaktown

    Thats so sad, but a very sweet tribute.

  6. Thanks, y’all, he was 22 pounds of love, but dumb as a post. I will miss him.

  7. Aw, Gary. I throw my leg over my head in your honor.

  8. Which is what you do on dates anyway…

  9. democommie

    Mack:

    At 22 pounds it sounds like he enjoyed his all too short time as your boss. I’m sure he’s enjoying some nice yellow fin sushi and a silk upholstered scratching post in kitteheaven.

  10. I liked Gary. He was one of the good ones.
    So sorry Mack.

  11. Losing a friend always sucks.

  12. Aw.
    I just lost my St. Bernard a couple weeks ago so I feel your pain.

    =(

  13. I miss gary.
    He was very cute. And now Dandy’s all sad and depressed.
    My poor kitties. =(

  14. So sorry for your loss. Sharon

  15. democommie

    Mack:

    I used to co-habit with a cat, “Gatto” who was the only one in his mother’s litter that wasn’t adopted. Nobody in the house liked him, including me (he was 11 when I moved in with the woman who opened his cat food). One day he disappeared, and when he came home 3 or 4 days later, he had been beaten up pretty badly. I borrowed a car, took him to the vet and they fixed him up (the woman I lived with was pissed at the $180 bill–I was supposed to know she would have let him die, I guess). So I had to nurse that crazy bastard back to health. Guess what, he loved me for the next two years or so until he had to go away. The vet said he probably wouldn’t have much of life, cancer was advanced. I took him home and buried him in the back yard. Even the ones you don’t want to care about, you care about. I think I know how you feel.

  16. Awww Mack, I’m so sorry about Gary. He was such a gorgeous cat and I just fell in love with him and his sidekick when I met them last year.

    As you probably read, I’ve lost two of my elderly cats and one dog the last few months, as well as my mom’s 20+ year old cat a few weeks ago too, and another older cat earlier this year. 2008 just seems to have been a bad year for pets. I feel ya.

    He was a really cool cat and so beautiful. I hope the good memories you all surely have of him will comfort your family for a long time to come, and I hope his buddy will be okay without him. Mucho hugs.

  17. Sorry to hear that (I’m late b/c I’ve been out of town). Definitely a bad year for pets – we lost our Ella to something similar just recently. Hugs.

Leave a Reply

