America, How It Should Be

Damn.  I am hopelessly smitten.  Last week I called some friends and remarked upon Michelle Obama’s beauty and style.  I didn’t know all that much about her, except that she had been a lawyer, and was, by all accounts, a devoted wife and mother.  I just liked the way she carried herself, there was confidence, there was a hint of athleticism, and there was a classiness to how she dressed.  Tonight, I learned a great deal more about not only her, but her family, and I don’t care how sentimental it makes me sound….I’m inspired.

The speech was perfectly crafted, and she delivered it with just the right amount of emotion.  But, the mechanics aside, the message was one of hope and inspiration, of hard work and dedication, of triumph over adversity.  In short, perhaps it was about that which America and Americans aspire,  and about what this country has been, and can be again.

I intend to have my children watch this speech after school tommorow.  I intend to think  about a man stricken with a dibilitating disease, dragging himself out of bed every morning to go work at a water treatment plant, so that his children might have better.  What on Earth is more American than that?

Mrs. Obama’s speech tonight will serve to remind me that it is perfectly OK to demand better from America, but only if you serve America, by demanding more from yourself.  Its OK to say, “this is how it is, and it will not do.”

I know that as I go to bed tonight, there are possibly hundreds of political operatives and faux patriots hell bent to distort something she said, to disprove something she recalled from her life.  I don’t care.  Her words rang true, and I am proud of this American family.

19 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

19 responses to “America, How It Should Be

  1. Pingback: Motivational Speaking : Post Politics: Political News and Views in Tennessee

  2. misssharoncobb

    She’s totally fabulous! I refer to her as Michelle O, as in “Jackie O,” but with even more style,grace,poise,wit, intelligence,energy,
    eloquence, and on and on.

    After hearing her last night, I was wishing she was the nominee!

  3. democommie

    Mack:

    I don’t got no teevee and the bars I frequent (it’s missionary work, I assure you) are not in the habit of turning the station from a NY Yankme’s game. But, I think the little bit that I’ve heard from MO is encouraging.

    I think that misssharoncobb’s analysis is spot on and would only add that if it’s a match between her and Cindy McCain, it will be like one of those claymation things on Celebrity Deathmatch.

  4. She did a FABULOUS job. I was incredibly impressed.

    Caroline brought me to tears…as did Teddy.

    A great first night.

  5. Well, I think I want to make this clear…I don’t believe we need to start comparing potential First Ladies. I don’t intend to vote for Obama because he has a fabulous wife, or gorgeous kids. Sure, I like the whole package, but I find this idea that we should vet the entire family more than a little repulsive. I never liked the attacks on W’s kids, for instance. Cindy McCain may be a compelling person as well.

  6. nm

    I tend not to get teary-eyed about political conventions. But when Teddy Kennedy vowed to be on the Senate floor come January, and the looks on his various relatives’ faces suggested they aren’t too sure he can be, I cried.

  7. This is a strange year for those of us who’ve been around a while. The Kennedy legacy is finally dying, decades after we lost John & Bobby, and the Clinton legacy is diminishing. Hillary will still continue as a formidable power in her Senate role, but she ends it. The political familes are slowly but surely going away.

  8. nm

    Huh? Plenty of Kennedys, Cuomos, people like that, are politically active. They tend to work locally rather than nationally, but those are families with a tremendous tradition of public service — that doesn’t go away, even if they aren’t in the spotlight as much.

  9. Jim, don’t you think Chelsea might one day surface as a candidate?

  10. democommie

    Mack:

    I’m with you on the idea that we don’t elect the family, but the MSM is not. Michelle Obama has already been characterized as being, well, kinda “feisty” and maybe not “wifey” enough. At the same time McCain’s SECOND wife has been treated with kid gloves. I don’t have an aminus for her but if you want to play in the arena you better be able to kick the lion’s ass.

  11. The Missus

    From Cnn’s Quick Vote

    How do you rate Michelle Obama’s convention speech?
    Thumbs up 37% 65740
    Thumbs down 12% 22101
    Didn’t watch it 51% 91542

  12. I was still hoping for Caroline Kennedy as veep. I don’t think Chelsea is crazy enough to run for public fishbowl. At times it amazes me anyone does.

    I know they’re still local, NM, (and all politics is local) but call me crazy, I want them nationally involved. Somebody has to counter the Romneys and their ilk.

  13. nm

    Some of them will go on to national stuff, some have done it and have gone back to their home states. (Andrew Cuomo was Sec. of HUD under WJ Clinton, is AG of NY State now, may use that to jump back to national politics.) What you’re missing, I think, is that no family is able to found a “political dynasty” based on national office only. The local base must come first; for most political families, the network always stays local. (Fords, Brileys, etc.) And often it’s more rewarding there; depending on the city, state, region, there’s often a lot more a person can get done there than in the US House or Senate.

  14. I think it’s great that she is not “wifey”, she’s sassy and I dig that Obama respects that.

  15. democommie

    Mychal:

    Me too, I didn’t intend to appear that I did not approve of her.

  16. NM, There you g being all logical and peractical and stuff. I’ve just never gotten over Bobby Kennedy not being president.

  17. Mack

    Jim, me neither

  18. sigh, spel chek nex tim.

  19. nm

    I have. What I haven’t gotten over is Lyndon Johnson, who had the capacity and desire to have been the greatest president of my lifetime, someone who would be in the history books with Lincoln and FDR, fucking up his job, our lives, and the next 40 years because of a fucking character flaw. He did it, he knew it, it killed him. That’s allowable in Oedipus, who was a myth turned into dramatic resolution. But the rest of us, who live in the real world, have had to live with Johnson’s inability to say no to “the Harvards” (and all the repercussions of that) because of his inferiority complex. Our country is worse off because he revered god-damned political dynasts. I admire families whose family job is public service, but they can harm as well as help, and as far as I’m concerned each one of them has to be proven as much as a nobody school teacher out of Texas.

Leave a Reply

