Cell Phones

Ok, that titles an inside joke.  But, for some reason, I was rambling on yesterday and becoming easily distracted and therefore unable to make an important point to The Missus and her Dependable Rock Solid Husband.  I was trying to tell them about a trend I’ve noticed for the past coupla years….

Cellphones.  Credit cards.  Long Distance Service.  All of these services are available to me and the kicker is that i can now choose only providers that share my ideological pre-dispositions.  I can choose a VISA that “donates” a percentage of my purchases to Progressive candidates.  I can text and chat on the electric telephone and benefit Greenpeace, or ActBlue, or a number of other quasi-Liberal outfits.

Part of this appeals to me.  I like the transparency that enables me to do business with like-minded entities.  I’d hate to think my patronage of a certain Corporation might contribute to another Bush-like administration, or, even scarier, pay any percentage of Bill Hobbs salary.

In the past, I’ve written about companies that take good care of their employees, like CostCo, and that I feel good about handing them my money.  Publix is another one.  I hope to always factor in a company’s ethics when chossing where to buy.  However, (and I’m hoping I don’t offend here) this is exactly what the Christian merchants do….they market to each other.  I ALWAYS skip right past businesses in the phone book that display “The Fish.”  More often than not, I have found those businesses to be the most ruthless and least satisfying to interact with, and the mere act of placing that symbol in your ad strikes me as exploitative.

So, it seems like this effort by progressive companies has just as much potential for abuse, and, it feels like one more way for us to stay seperate.  For now, at least for me, I’m going to stick with my tried and true approach, and tell these outfits the same thing i tell enthusiastic evangelicals…don’t tell me you’re a Christian/Progressive.  Act like it, I’ll notice.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Cell Phones

  1. The Missus

    Who put that Bitchy/Stressed avatar with my name? It’s perfect!!

  2. that’s like saying all republicans are evil (ok, i agree that may be a bad example). some are like that, some aren’t. but they are marketing to themselves and i know people who look for that sort of thing. I don’t let it influence me much one way or another despite my faith.

  3. democommie

    Mack:

    I hate to say it, but I tend to agree with you about avoiding people who wear their faith on their company logo. I don’t care what anybody does as long as it doesn’t interfere with my life, but I’ve been lectured by a few christians for not buying into their “faith” when I wanted to get product, needless to say, I’ve found other sources in those cases.

  4. I agree; it doesn’t make much sense to me to use Jesus for profit — which is what they’re doing.

Leave a Reply

