Sleeper Madness

Because I go to bed early, I am frequently awake at times favored only by vampires and serial killers.  True to form, last night I awoke at roughly 2:oo a.m.

For some reason, everyone else is still sleeping.  Slackers.  So, I usually slip on headphones  and catch something on TV.  My choices are almost always B-movies and infomercials, but I’ll be damned if I didn’t watch “Reefer Madness”.  All I can say is that it would have been hilarious, with, well, reefer. Apparently, I must have sleepwalked over to the cabinet where I keep my tin foil hat, and donned it for this movie, because I couldn’t help but think that flick was made by the alcohol and tobacco industry as propaganda to discredit the herb.

Then I got to watch “Who Killed The Electric Car” for the third time.  I still get mad every  time I see it.  We can build a damn fine electric car.  We can build an electric infrastructure, and reduce emissions by roughly 90%.  The technology is here.  Today.  All we lack is the backbone to sacrifice for a decade or so to insure that our kids, and their kids, can breathe cleaner air, and have the same freedom of mobility that we have enjoyed for our entire lives.  Oh, that, and some political leaders with courage and a sense of the greater good.

I don’t like the odds.

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Sleeper Madness

  1. Hell, I was up at 3 a.m.
    I ended up watching two, count ‘em, two episodes of Star Trek.
    Yeah, I love me some Capt. Kirk.
    Is this like a reverse insomnia thing?

  2. Sheesh…y’all are waking up right about the time I can finally get to sleep…

    We all live in the wrong time zones, don’t we?

  3. I’m fine with 5-6 hours, but I sometimes wish that didn’t mean 9-3…

    Actually, though, in the summer its a good thing. I have already lunged Arras for 30 minutes, he’s draining well, and doesn’t seem too stiff. I cut the wood for the coop walls, and fed all the animals. I didn’t have to water the garden, though, since we had rain. My chores were done by 7:00 a.m.

  4. That’s what is so great about being a morning person–you can get things done early and then you have the whole rest of the day to do with what you please. As a night person, it doesn’t work that way, at least for me. I have tried to reprogram my body to be “early to bed, early to rise”, but for some reason, I always revert back to being nocturnal. I love early mornings–everything is so peaceful and fresh…and beautiful.

    Glad to hear Arras is doing well. :)

  5. Let me guess: the Chiller channel?

  6. My film buff/freak memory is failing me, but if I’m not mistaken I think there was indeed either some type of government or lobbyist type funding behind Reefer Madness and its followup similar schlocky films… there was Sex Madness and I wanna say Cocaine Madness too… hehe.

    I hear the modern remake of Reefer Madness (it was on Showtime or HBO a couple of years ago or so) is pretty hilarious.

Leave a Reply

