I Love a Man In Uniform!

As any loyal Python fan knows, they had an ability to take the most absurd premise and run with it until you couldn’t help but laugh. The Dead Parrot. The Cheeseshop. The Ministry of Silly Walks. Another favorite of mine was the The Worlds Deadliest Joke. In the sketch, two warring armies are seperated by only a few yards, and hunkered down in foxholes. A “joke bomb” falls into the hands of one side, and they shout it out over a bullhorn. Once anyone hears the punchline, they laugh themselves to death. It was silly, sure, but it was funny.

If they were still together, imagine what they could do this piece of news.

I don’t know whether to laugh or cry that this was considered in 1994.

In local news (meaning it happened on my farm) the sub-floor is finished for the chicken coop. Today I set the walls and hopefully have rafters in by end of the weekend. If you have a hammer and some time…come on down.

If any of you remember that we had a foal last year we had to bottle feed all summer, he is now a yearling, weighs in at around 600 lbs, and had a halter on yesterday. In the evening, I had him on a rope. Ok, he had ME on the rope. Wish me luck with this, as I cannot find a reliable horse trainer…

14 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

14 responses to “I Love a Man In Uniform!

  1. Char

    That gives new meaning to the phrase “make love not war”. I wonder how long the effects of this bomb would last? What if it last say 24-48 hours and someone dropped one on Westboro Baptist church (Fred Phelps gang} on a Sunday of course.
    Kodak moments!

  2. Awesome idea Char! Maybe a “mini” one for Repub Convention as well.

  3. this was considered in 1994.

    What is your take on the fact that this was proposed during the Clinton administration. (btw, I love Clinton so I’m not dawging him…I’m just sayin’…)

    Can I ride your horsey?

  4. speaking of Monty Python – this seems to be a result of such a bomb …

  5. Char

    I like Repulican convention.
    Who would be the perfect mate (s) for Tancredo ?

  6. Jon

    Well I’m not sure you need a ‘gay bomb’ for a Republican convention, when just a ‘come out of the closet bomb’ would wreak plenty of havoc..

  7. I can’t wait to see the chicken coop. I wish you’d take pictures and post them along the way.

  8. I’m with B., post pics!!!!

  9. Here is my fave Python bit:

    Cut to a small squad with rifles making their way through forest. Suddenly one of them sees something and gives signal at which they all dive for cover. From the cover of a tree he reads out the joke.

    Corporal:
    Wenn ist das Nunstruck git und Slotermeyer? Ja!…
    Beiherhund das Oder die Flipperwaldt gersput!

    Sniper falls laughing out of tree.

    Joke Brigade:
    (charging)
    Wenn ist das Nunstruck git und Slotermeyer? Ja!…
    Beiherhund das Oder die Flipperwaldt gersput.

    They chant the joke.
    Germans are put to fight laughing, some dropping to ground.

    Voice Over:
    The German casualties were appalling.

  10. there’s also this Monty Python moment:

  11. The *only* Python bit I know…

    Arthur:
    Look, you stupid bastard! You’ve got no arms left!

    Black Knight:
    Yes, I have.

    Arthur:
    Look!

    Black Knight:
    It’s just a flesh wound.

  12. Hey Mack: I thought you’d get a kick out of this.

    Immigrants Doing Jogbs Americans Won’t

  13. Ooops, sorry for the typo. More coffee, please.

Leave a Reply

