Thank God for TCAPS, or, Here’s a Child Left Behind

Last night, my daughter talked me into going to the ballpark so she could watch her boyfriend’s baseball game. So we go, and after settling in on the bleachers, I decide to get us some greasy fries to eat. I decided to grab a roll of peanuts too (peanuts/baseball=inseparable). My order in hand, I get to the cashier, a sophomore who used to go to our local High School. The fries were $1.50

The peanuts were 75 cents.

May lightning strike me dead if I’m lying; she could not make change for the $5.25 I handed her without first adding the amounts on her little calculator. I think I actually starting crying a little.

23 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

23 responses to “Thank God for TCAPS, or, Here’s a Child Left Behind

  1. Yikes. I have always had to stop and think about change and have always had a little more difficulty with subtraction than anything else, but that is kind of frightening. I spend a lot of time down here in this fair city wondering what the crap (if anything, sometimes it seems like) they are getting taught in high schools here.

    On another note – hey, do you have a blender or should I bring my own? :)

  2. gasp! Your daughter has a boyfriend? You are such a pushover…you weren’t going to let her have boyfriends until she’s 30. ;)

    Time to get that “decoration” down from your guest bathroom and put it to good use. lol

  3. Do you have a blender is the funniest thing I have read all day.

    No, Lynnster, I’m not trusted around machinery with sharp blades….;p

    Yup, I have one, and a microwave and everything!

    Ginger, this kid is the dorkiest kid on the planet. I’m pretty sure I’m safe for now.

  4. Mack, Is there an oven in the cabin?

    After answering this question, you may go forth (in peace, of course) and mow your field.

  5. Do you have a blender is the funniest thing I have read all day.

    Heh heh, it was a valid question… countless times over the years I have had to stop and buy one on the way to female friends’ homes (who cook and have fully stocked kitchens) that didn’t have blenders.

    No, Lynnster, I’m not trusted around machinery with sharp blades….;p

    Me neither, but we won’t tell anybody. That’ll just be our little secret!

    Yup, I have one, and a microwave and everything!

    If you have indoor plumbing and electricity, I may just die. :p

    Ginger, this kid is the dorkiest kid on the planet. I’m pretty sure I’m safe for now.

    Be careful there, Dad! It’s the nice, shy, quiet and dorky ones that sometimes you should be worrying about most! Take it from someone who was once a preteen and teenage girl (back in the Jurassic Age anyway)… :p

  6. Pingback: Nashville is Talking » Take Your Time, Lady

  7. Don’t know what the blender’s for, but if it’s for what I think, maybe it wouldn’t hurt to have more than one.

    I can bring mine if that’d be of any use.

    Oh, and on the change-making thing…do NOT get me started on feminism, math and learned helplessness.

  8. I think I ruined my blender making paper, but I can bring it if needed.

  9. hmmm…I can think of other uses for rolling papers papers, but blender making isn’t one of them.

  10. Rachel, I bow to your hippie goodness.

    Lynnster, the ways of the Earth are magnificent. I can only assume that Rachel was grinding down twigs and small trees in an effort to render pulp from the wood.

    Ginger, sweetie, 4/20 is still a couple of days away…are you partaking in advance? Cause we aren’t using the paper to make blenders. We’re using the blenders to make paper.

    Except we aren’t. Rachel was. Oh, wait. I see what you did there.

    I think I ruined my blender making soup.

  11. Yeah, I was grinding down all manner of paper that would have been otherwise thrown away to make invitations for my wedding. You know how seldom I use the blender now that you know that we’re coming up on our 5-year anniversary, and I’m not sure I’ve used the blender since then.

  12. “blender while making paper,” not “blender-making paper” :)

  13. Yeah, I was grinding down all manner of paper that would have been otherwise thrown away to make invitations for my wedding.

    Because weddings are traditionally a time when one is free to do these extra tasks…

    (Says the woman who did all her own calligraphy and made about 30 balloon centerpieces.)

  14. hee! …I like my idea better ;)

  15. (Says the woman who did all her own calligraphy and made about 30 balloon centerpieces.)

    Good God, I am so slipping something into your brownie…

  16. Mack, better slip something into mine, too. The pages of those wedding invites were bound together with hemp string.

  17. Maybe she was super-analytical, because I’m kind of that way. I just about have to analyze everything, regardless of how many times I’ve seen it, heard it, or done it. That’s just how my brain works; it doesn’t mean I’m stupid, and sometimes it helps me to see things that others might not see.

    Another thing might be calculators. They’re used all the time. That’s why kids are starting to study Algebra in middle school instead of high school. Basically, simple math skills are sacrificed for more complex math skills.

  18. Maybe Eli, but if the cost of that is that this teenager can’t make 2.00 of even change….we ain’t makin progress.

  19. Was she white? If so, that’s probably why.

  20. “Was she white?” *snort* I don’t know why, but that just made me laugh out loud in the middle of the office.

    I think it’s time to go home. But maybe I should bring some paper with me so I can make blenders.

  21. er, Rachel…got any extra hemp string?

  22. Brownies?
    I’m coming up Friday.

Leave a Reply

